No path is set in stone, prepare for the meanders ahead.

I always had a solid plan of what I wanted to do with my life. I had my business budding and in the planning, and I had an end goal of what I wanted the business to be in the future. However in the last few months alone, I have made huge changes to the plan, just to adjust to new life experiences and situations. Many factors changed my course, and many players helped change it too, but not all the change was bad. It was just a refinement based on better more developed knowledge.

Lets get the biggest and most known cause out the way, external factors. These happen everyday and even more so in todays world. We have the rambling big baby currently occupied in the White House, which I could write a whole blog on alone. We then had the dramatics of UK politics, with the change from Cameron to May, to Brexit and now Scotland wanted another referendum. We then have the threat of North Korea, Russia, China and the US launching a Nuclear War due to increased tensions. Our future looks bright! However above all this, all of these factors influence business, let alone other areas they impact. Brexit, means business with Europe will be different to what it is today. Trump means business will be different with the US. With all these minds, I have to play a very forward thinking game when getting my business of the ground and making it global. I used to want to follow a path where the business is very centralised, and everything happens from the middle. However more and more I feel this would be a very bad path to follow. This brings me to the first of the big changes in my thinking towards my business future. I now believe I want to take a group approach when it comes to my business. By this I mean take a virgin’esque approach, and Have my Serenity brand, as a group, and the departments and products are subsidiaries underneath it. This is also a model used by Alphabet, better known as Google. This means that building new projects is much easier and the future products my business can create is wide spanning, meaning greater opportunities to change things and make more revenue for the business to keep expanding and growing. I have already started to lay the ground work for this, with the naming of the projects. Serenity Apps being the main feature of the product portfolio, however we now have Serenity Talks, Serenity Web (Something coming soon πŸ˜‰ ) and more to come! By doing this the products already share the Serenity Branding, however they could stand on their own and run as an efficient business on their own. This makes it easier to run the business as a whole, as it expands, the projects are not weighed down by the other projects, they are all free to move and expand as they please. This was change one in my rationale, thanks to external factors and also a better more developed business knowledge. This leads on to the second reason.

As we grow, in age and maturity, we also develop a better knowledge, a more refined knowledge as we grow. This can create change to the path we want to go down. So for the example I explained before, this was also based on better business knowledge. I am currently only 19 so rather new to the business theory, however prior to University, the group structure of business was rather new to me. However now I understand it better and its pros and cons, I feel the pros really weigh into favour for my business going forward and thats why It helped me change my projection for the future for how I want my business to prosper and grow.

HISOTRY .001

Now, my business has always been adapting and changing, its nothing new. However until now the biggest changes were the brand that was being projected into the world. The design, the aesthetic, the look. The business was once called Bournes Co, now its called Serenity. The business in total, when being developed had 9 logos (11 if you count the slight alterations we made to some of the logos over the years!). Now my attention is fixing and adapting the behind the scenes functions of the business and how I want it to work going forward and what I would like it to evolve into.

Lastly, change can be healthy, change isn’t something you should always be afraid of. Change, is difficult, its not easy, but if you stick to it and really believe in the change, then the end result will be so worth it! So go ahead and don’t be afraid of it!

Go out there, and be ready, be excited, for change!

Brandon x

Leave a Reply

