“Wuthering Heights” Another personal favourite from my favourite artist.

Now this is another wonderful song. Im a big fan of Kate Bush, and her songs and ability to write lyrics that are bubbly and often spooky (Breathing), but then tell a story many people find difficult to tell, again I will allude to her other song Breathing. However Wuthering Heights is one of my favourites because I find it almost enchanting. Actually scrap that it is enchanting. Whenever I listen to it I find myself unaware of whats around me and fully immersed into the music. Her voice is also incredible.
To think also she wrote this song only aged 18, which impressed me and made me love Kate even more. The song being based on the story Wuthering Heights written by Emily Brontë. This song will always be a favourite of mine, and I shall always love it every single time I hear it played!

Wuthering Heights

Out on the wiley, windy moors
We’d roll and fall in green.
You had a temper like my jealousy:
Too hot, too greedy.
How could you leave me,
When I needed to possess you?
I hated you. I loved you, too.

Bad dreams in the night.
They told me I was going to lose the fight,
Leave behind my wuthering, wuthering
Wuthering Heights.

Heathcliff, it’s me, your Cathy.
I’ve come home. I’m so cold!
Let me in-a-your window.

Heathcliff, it’s me, your Cathy.
I’ve come home. I’m so cold!
Let me in-a-your window.

Ooh, it gets dark! It gets lonely,
On the other side from you.
I pine a lot. I find the lot
Falls through without you.
I’m coming back, love.
Cruel Heathcliff, my one dream,
My only master.

Too long I roam in the night.
I’m coming back to his side, to put it right.
I’m coming home to wuthering, wuthering,
Wuthering Heights,

Heathcliff, it’s me, your Cathy.
I’ve come home. I’m so cold!
Let me in-a-your window.

Heathcliff, it’s me, your Cathy.
I’ve come home. I’m so cold!
Let me in-a-your window.

Ooh! Let me have it.
Let me grab your soul away.
Ooh! Let me have it.
Let me grab your soul away.
You know it’s me Cathy!

Heathcliff, it’s me, your Cathy.
I’ve come home. I’m so cold!
Let me in-a-your window.

Heathcliff, it’s me, your Cathy.
I’ve come home. I’m so cold!
Let me in-a-your window.

Heathcliff, it’s me, your Cathy.
I’ve come home. I’m so cold!

Written by Kate Bush © EMI Music Publishing
Leave a Reply

