Never mind I’ll find someone like (or better!) than you

Sticking with modern, I’m going to another amazing artist, a true modern icon, Adele. I have been a fan since, chasing pavements, to hello, and send your love, and also one of my personal favourites Someone Like You. I find this song hugely emotional. Its a song that has an eerie relatable context with the lyrics, that can be applied to someone romantically and un – romantically. I find this song personally as a fight back song, a song that tells that person in the past, that they will remain in the past, and ‘Never mind, I’ll find someone like you’. The only change I would make to the song (However I feel it would take the edge of it and make it sound rather strange) is that instead of finding ‘someone like you’, I would do as the title states, ‘Find someone better than you’.

However on a serious note this song takes me away to another universe, of depth, clarity and thinking. Making me think of the past and feel proud of how far I have come from that point in the past I think of.

Its a song that will always be iconic and relatable to me, and I feel it will be a overall iconic song to the world too.

Love ya Adele!

Heres a link to the song on iTunes and Apple Music 🙂

Someone Like You

I heard that you’re settled down
That you found a girl and you’re married now.
I heard that your dreams came true.
Guess she gave you things I didn’t give to you.

Old friend, why are you so shy?
Ain’t like you to hold back or hide from the light.

I hate to turn up out of the blue uninvited
But I couldn’t stay away, I couldn’t fight it.
I had hoped you’d see my face and that you’d be reminded
That for me it isn’t over.

Never mind, I’ll find someone like you
I wish nothing but the best for you too
Don’t forget me, I beg
I’ll remember you said,
“Sometimes it lasts in love but sometimes it hurts instead,
Sometimes it lasts in love but sometimes it hurts instead”

You know how the time flies
Only yesterday was the time of our lives
We were born and raised
In a summer haze
Bound by the surprise of our glory days

I hate to turn up out of the blue uninvited
But I couldn’t stay away, I couldn’t fight it.
I’d hoped you’d see my face and that you’d be reminded
That for me it isn’t over.

Never mind, I’ll find someone like you
I wish nothing but the best for you too
Don’t forget me, I beg
I’ll remember you said,
“Sometimes it lasts in love but sometimes it hurts instead.”

Nothing compares
No worries or cares
Regrets and mistakes
They are memories made.
Who would have known how bittersweet this would taste?

Never mind, I’ll find someone like you
I wish nothing but the best for you
Don’t forget me, I beg
I’ll remember you said,
“Sometimes it lasts in love but sometimes it hurts instead”.

Never mind, I’ll find someone like you
I wish nothing but the best for you too
Don’t forget me, I beg
I’ll remember you said,
“Sometimes it lasts in love but sometimes it hurts instead,
Sometimes it lasts in love but sometimes it hurts instead.”

Brandon x x x

Writer(s): Adele Adkins, DANIEL DODD WILSON

Leave a Reply

