“Power over men”

Jamie T is today’s choice for a fave. I love Jamie’s music. He’s very different from the average and never sways away from singing about taboo. This song is song in particular that took me to good places, and more of his older material will be showing up soon on future posts so keep eyes peeled. This song is all about power. The power balance shifting. A woman, having power over men, making them;

Fall at her feet, weak, their tongues leak, they try to stop talking cause now they don’t make any sense

The songs lyrics, unlike the previous choices, don’t resonate with me in the surface level. I’m not a woman and don’t seem to have as much power over men as she seems to in the song although it would be a rather thrilling thing. However it’s the whole idea of control. I like being in control. I feel uncomfortable not being in control. I sit well with places of position like leading. This is an attribute of me that I would say is my best. However this song, with the overall best of the song. It’s very uplifting but at the same time has dark undertones.

The song is from his newest album Trick which I haspd the great opportunity of watching live at the O2 Academy Brixton (Which was phenomenal! And my first real gig I’ve gone too!).

Its a sign of Jamie coming of age, maturing, from earlier more rebellious in sound and nature, however still keeping his authentic stamp on it. The true urban poet he is.

Power over men

In the square, I waited for you
Trick, trick…
She’s the eye of the storm born in the city I live
Her vanity’s dressed up as virtue in brogue shoes in art schools with tattoos upon the skin
She used to make do, but now she makes men
Fall at her feet, weak, their tongues leak, they try to stop talking cause now they don’t make any sense

She was never academic
She couldn’t draw a thing
But she had power over men
She had power over men
She had power over

So I drove to the bar now I’m sipping on gin
I stare into space as the place seemed to get that little bit of something it was missing
She walked in, I could say she looked good, I could say she’s just a friend
But that would just be me throwing you off the scent, she’s everything an understatement has
She’s under my skin

Like an anesthetic
You’ll never feel a thing
Cause she had power over men
She had power over men
She had power over

But as with any gift, there’s always a twist
She can never really kiss, cause there’s never remiss
Like giving everloves, you can never really win
It’s the burden and a curse of her power over…
Men

She had power over men
She had power over men
She had power over men
She had power over men
She had power over men
She had power over

Brandon x x x

Writer(s): Jamie Treays, James Vernon Dring

One thought on ““Power over men”

Leave a Reply

